Congrats: Today is your Birthday!

Congrats. Today is your birthday. It’ s the  21st of August 2010. Remember that date! Write it down. You just prayed the sinners prayer and that means that God saved ya!”

ARRGHH!

Hearing those words today made my blood pressure rise. I was so furious that I had to pray for the Lord to tame my tongue. I so badly wanted to pull my evangelism team to the side and “rip” into them but that would NOT have been Christ-like.

Why was I so upset, you ask? Well, give me a minute to explain…

Today, I led an evangelism team into the streets of downtown dallas. The goal was simple. 1. proclaim the gospel to the homeless. 2. Pass out candy to them. 3.invite them all back to our church’s facility for a warm hot meal.

As our team began to minister to the many homeless who were walking about, I noticed a man walking towards me and I decided to approach him. He wanted a bag of candy and I obliged. He swiftly grabbed the bag  and told me that he had already heard all that “gospel stuff”. No surprise there.

Before I could respond, he began to walk away and I called out to him, “Sir, can I at least pray for ya?” He thought about it and figured that it wouldn’t hurt. So, the team all gathered around him as I prayed.

I just prayed that God would give him the ability to see that he has offended God and I asked that God would grant him repentance and faith. After that short prayer things got VERY interesting!..

One of the ladies from our evangelism team began to share the gospel with the guy. She then, hurried to the sinner’s prayer. This is how it all went down..

Lady Evangelist: Do you understand the gospel now?

Homeless Guy: yeah i do

Lady Evangelist: Do you wanna pray a prayer and accept Jesus as Lord

Homeless Guy: uh..ok

Lady Evangelist: Ok..it’s really simple and easy just repeat after me

She starts the prayer

Lady Evangelist: Jesus forgive me…

total silence. The homeless guy is totally uninterested in what’s going on.

Lady Evangelist: Hey, listen,  just repeat after me. I say the words and you repeat them. okay?

Homeless Guy: ok

Lady Evangelist: Jesus….

Total silence again. Now things are getting awkward. She is obviously the only one praying here. Another evangelist from our group steps in to “save the day”

Male evangelist: C’mon bro please just repeat this prayer. please. please. God will change your life. you won’t believe what God will do. Trust me bro. just repeat after me right now. Ready?

Another evangelist chimes in his two cents

Male evangelist#2: Yeah we’ll pray with ya. Don’t be scared brother.

They start the sinners prayer again.

Male evangelist: Jesus, forgive me for my sins. I admit that I am a sinner..

silence again! The homeless guy is now visibly nervous and doesn’t pray a single word. not a word! Feeling the pressure of the situation, The two male evangelists say the entire sinners prayer for the homeless man! Then, TO MY SURPRISE, they tell the man he is now saved. WTH?!?!

Male Evangelist #2: Congrats. Today is your birthday….

Male Evangelist #2:…It’s the 21st of August 2010. Remember that date! Write it down. You just prayed the sinners prayer and that means that God saved ya!

One of the evangelists pulls out a notebook and writes down the date on a sheet of paper and then writes down the homeless guy’s name and tells him to keep the paper as a reminder that God saved him today. wow. that’s  redunkulous!!!!!!!!!!!!(ridiculous)


Now, you may be wondering why this is soooo wrong. Well, its because that man showed NO signs of repentance. I mean…c’mon…he wouldn’t even pray and cry out to God. not at all! There was no visible brokenness over his sin.

zilch.

He was just being pressured by my team. And, now, he has a false hope of salvation just because someone walked him through the “sinner’s prayer” without him having to say a word. This is one of the major reasons why are churches in AMERICA are so filled with false-converts! Its true. These days,  just about everybody and their mama considers themselves a born again believer, especially in the bible belt. Have you noticed?

The problem is that most evangelists are using the sinners prayer as some fail-proof method to get a ticket into heaven. No repentance necessary. No mourning over your sin. No realizing that ALL your good works are like filthy rags (isaiah 64:6). None of that. Just say this quick prayer…it’ll only take a minute. ARRRGH! This is not what the bible teaches about salvation! (see John 3:5-8))

You see, you CAN’T save a sinner with some method because salvation is ONLY a work of God..

“who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.” (john 1:13.bold lettering mine)

I think modern day evangelists have forgotten this fact. We seem to be so consumed with getting someone to recite a prayer…so rushed and hurried in our witnessing.. so we can brag about “what the Lord did” in our ministries. However, most of the time its just a work of the flesh, the power of persuasion, resulting in false converts and not the work of God’s Spirit.

Instead, we should humbly wait for God to do a work on a man’s heart, breaking the love affair with sin, by His spirit alone.

Comments
5 Responses to “Congrats: Today is your Birthday!”
  1. D says:

    This is sad, I believe I would have stopped the prayer in the midst of it, and told the prayers of the sinners prayer to Get behind me satan! Jesus said that, so you would have been being Christ-like. 🙂

  2. Marleny R says:

    very interesting…now the question my friend is if anything was said at the time to correct this….

    2 Timothy 3:16-17, “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

    • JAMAL says:

      yes most definitely. We had a long talk afterward and I explained why I felt the way I felt about this. I believe the team was absolutely sincere…just misguided about how to approach the sinner’s prayer…and, on that note, I have also made those same mistakes in the past.

  3. christianclarityreview says:

    That’s about it. The kids go home and say they saved a homeless man. The parents kick in some money to have the whole experience again, because they don’t want their kids to fail at anything. And they were ‘brave’ to be down at the shelter at all. God gets a bad name, no one was saved, the whole family is hooked on false religion they paid to buy and as a result are the most gullible people you’ll ever meet because they enjoyed pulling one over on someone else for personal benefit.

    You missed the part where the drug addict was forced to ‘take responsibility’ and ‘repeat’ the ‘free will drug addicts confession’. Or the prisoner was forced to say it was all his own fault to ‘get Jesus’.

    The homeless guy? He got the point right off that they thought he was homeless because he wasn’t a Christian and all his problems would vanish if he just admitted everything was his own fault.

    What you witnessed was as great an evil as homosexual rape or drug dealers spiking the punch with their product at a high school prom. That goes on every day all over the country. It is just as evil for an older person confined to bed while TBN over the tv says the same thing about the pain in their hip.

    Jeremiah 5:29-31 Shall I not visit for these things? saith Jehovah; shall not my soul be avenged on such a nation as this? An appalling and horrible thing is committed in the land: the prophets prophesy falsehood, and the priests rule by their means; and my people love to have it so. But what will ye do in the end thereof?

    In the Name of Jesus Christ, Amen

Leave a Reply

